New Interns at SYC!

Hello everyone! We are Nejc and Hrvoje, two new interns at SYC, staying here until the end of November. We came to Canada as part of the “Thinking Canada” study tour and internship programme funded by the EU. The aim of the tour was to provide students with an understanding of EU-Canada relations and the complex diversity of Canada itself. We visited six cities – Ottawa, Québec, Montréal, Toronto, Vancouver, and Victoria – where we met with various private and public institutions, government bodies, think tanks and NGOs. Some of the topics covered include Canada’s cultural diversity (the English/French relationship, First Nations and multiculturalism), political issues (federalism, regionalism, and the role of government), the environment (including old-growth forests and Arctic issues), urban issues and economic issues (business, finance, trade). We are both very lucky and excited to be working with the team!

A little about our backgrounds:

Nejc
NejcI am Nejc (pronounced Nates) from Slovenia, currently finishing my Master’s degree in English Language and Literature at the University of Ljubljana, where I focused on Canadian and American studies, as well as cultural theory during my studies abroad. Coming from a rural background and a family of hikers (which is very Slovenian) and a few vegetarians (which is not), I have always had an appreciation for the environment. That interest grew as I started taking sustainability and climate courses through Coursera’s online platform, and I am now increasingly drawn to the challenges of sustainable transport and the infrastructure required. Combining the environmental with my geekier side, I will be working on building the Sustainable Campuses database, updating the SYC website, and helping with various other tasks.

Hrvoje
HrvojeI’m Hrvoje (pronounced: her-vo-yeh) and I come from Croatia where I study English Language and Literature, and Sociology at the University of Zagreb. I’m really interested in society in general, but more specifically in the solutions to problems we (still) face- inequality, poverty, environmental issues, all sorts of discrimination, politically disengaged youth etc.  I am particularly interested in LGBT rights, racial discrimination, and multicultural issues, that’s why I’m looking forward to working on the anti-oppression policy of SYC. Hopefully I’ll be able to develop it more by connecting all the mentioned topics through the concept of environmental justice (I’ve always preferred the bigger picture). I firmly believe that sustainability and equity are inseparable, and that treating them as unrelated entities is incomplete and counterproductive. If you have any ideas, suggestions or simply feel passionate about anti-oppression issues, please contact me at: hrvoje@syc-cjs.org

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

